About AWT Awards

Ray Baum Memorial Water Technologist of the Year Award Recipient

The Ray Baum Memorial Water Technologist of the Year Award, recognizing "outstanding entrepreneurial spirit and contributions to the field of water treatment," will be awarded at the Annual Reception and Awards Dinner held during the Annual Convention.

The award is named after Ray Baum, one of AWT's founders. Baum viewed the association as a nurturing support network for small and medium-sized companies, with the goal of providing knowledge and activities to allow these companies to grow and compete in the worldwide marketplace. He was committed to the industry whose growth he helped build throughout his career. The recipient should exemplify these characteristics.

Past Ray Baum Memorial Water Technologist of the Year Recipients

2023 - Les Norman, PE, CWT
2022 - Garrett Garcia
2021 - Bob Cunningham, CWT
2020 - R. Trace Blackmore, CWT
2019 - John Zibrida
2018 - Chris D. Golden, CWT
2017 - Robert J. Ferguson
2016 - Jack Walker, CWT
2015 - James Scott, CWT
2014 - Allan R. Bassett, CWT
2013 - James McDonald, PE, CWT
2012 - Joseph M. Hannigan, CWT
2011 - Cindy Mitchell, CWT
2010 - Jack Soost, CWT
2009 - Jay Farmerie, CWT
2008 - Jim Lukanich, CWT
2007 - Richard L. Tassone
2006 - Bruce T. Ketrick Sr., CWT
2005 - William E. Pearson II, CWT

2004 - Colin Frayne, CWT
2003 - Richard T. Blake, CWT
2002 - Zahid Amjad, Ph.D.
2001 - Bennett Boffardi, Ph.D.
2000 - Arthur J. Freedman, Ph.D.
1999 - Janet E. Stout, Ph.D.
1998 - Brent W. Chettle, CWT
1997 - Jessie Jefferies
1996 - John J. Baum, CWT
1995 - E.J. Caruso
1994 - Dennis Clayton
1993 - Ronald Knestaut
1992 - Robert R. Cavano
1991 - D.C. "Chuck" Brandvold, CWT


Supplier of the Year Award Recipient

The Supplier of the Year will once again be recognized at the Annual Reception and Awards Dinner in conjunction with the Annual Convention. This award recognizes a supplier who is an integral part of the water technology industry.

As distributors and manufacturers serving and supporting the water technology industry, suppliers provide a variety of water treatment products, chemicals, and equipment; many are also active in research and development and the introduction of special applications. AWT is looking for a supplier who not only provides great customer service and a quality product, but also is especially dedicated to the business needs and goals of the water technology professional.

Past Supplier of the Year Recipients

2023 – Eastern technologies, Inc.
2022 – APTech Group, Inc.
2021 – Bio-Source, Inc.
2020 – Walchem, IWAKI America, Inc.
2019 – HC Info
2018 – Radical Polymers
2017 – McGowan Insurance Group, Inc.
2016 – QualiChem, Inc.
2015 – Scranton Associates, Inc.
2014 – Masters Company, Inc.
2013 – Taylor Technologies, Inc.
2012 – French Creek Software, Inc.

2011 – Lakewood Instruments LLC
2010 – Aqua Phoenix Scientific Inc.
2009 – AMSA, Inc.
2008 – Houghton Chemical Corporation
2007 – Water Color Management, Inc.
2006 – Advantage Controls, Inc.
2005 – ZIBEX, Inc


Innovation Award Recipient

The Innovation Award will focus on the AWT Member whose new product, concept and/or offering brings added value to the industry as a whole. The award will recognize the exciting developments in our industry.

The Award will be given for a new and unique product or service that advances AWT members. Members will submit nominations’ detailing how effective the innovation is, how it helps them, and how it advances the industry. This award will not be given annually. The product or service must be in the marketplace for at least five years.

A committee assigned by the AWT Board of Directors will review applications and the final nominee(s) will be presented to the Board for approval. Award recognition and presentation will occur at the annual AWT Annual Reception and Awards Dinner.

Past Innovation Award Recipients

2022 – Devices by Pyxis Lab, Inc.
2020 – WaterCycle by French Creek Software, Inc.




Rising Star Award Recipient

The Rising Star award recognizes the contributions and efforts of the next generation of water treatment professional. The nominee will possess a demonstrated passion for their work in the industrial water treatment field and will have contributed to the advancement of the AWT mission. This award would focus on a young professional who brings added value to the AWT  and its membership through their efforts, provision of resources and volunteer contributions. This award is not given out annually. Nominees will be considered based on these primary factors:

  • Under 40s with ten years or less of water treatment experience.
  • Demonstrated evidence of the role played by the nominee and the resulting positive outcomes from projects, publications, activities, or initiatives that demonstrate exceptional and ongoing service to the association and its members.
  • Evidence that the contributions of the nominee are having a sustained and positive impact on the association and its members.
  • Evidence that the nominee’s successes point to demonstrated levels of responsibility, both within the association and the water treatment profession in general.
  • Recognized for leadership qualities and potential for future leadership opportunities within the association.

Past Rising Star Award Recipients

2023 – Reid Hutchison
2022 – Chelsea Farmer
2021 – Laith Charles



  • Water Color
  • Walchem Iwaki America
  • QualiChem
  • Environmental Safety Technologies